Jump to content

Artemis Gordon

Members
  • Content Count

    607
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Artemis Gordon

  • Rank
    Member

Recent Profile Visitors

1,946 profile views
  1. A Good Duke is Hard to Find A Good Duke is Hard to Find by Christina Britton is $1.99! This is the first book in the Isle of Synne series and I’m sure it’s pronounced “sin” but my mind went to “sine” and I, for one, will avoid an island of calculus. No thank you! Get swept away by a Regency romance of broken engagements, second chances, and stolen kisses from the author whom Publishers Weekly calls “irresistible”. After her third fiancé leaves her at the altar, Lenora Hartley is beginning
  2. Squee One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston June 1, 2021 · St. Martin's Griffin Contemporary RomanceLGBTQIA CW/TW: reference to a historical hate crime against LGBTQ people One Last Stop is the tale of August, a young woman who has recently moved to New York City, and Jane, the mysterious woman that August meets on the subway. When August moves to New York, she intends to do what she’s done her whole life, namely, keep to herself. However, h
  3. By the Book By the Book by Amanda Sellet is $2.99! This is a contemporary YA romance with a focus on book nerds. Hello! This has been featured in both Cover Awe and Hide Your Wallet. It’s been sitting on my nightstand for quite some time, but such is the fickleness of my TBR. In this clever YA rom-com debut perfect for fans of Kasie West and Ashley Poston, a teen obsessed with nineteenth-century literature tries to cull advice on life and love from her favorite classic heroines to disastr
  4. This HaBO comes from G.V., who is looking for this category romance: It was either a Harlequin Presents or Mills and Boon contemporary romance, probably published between the 80s to the 2000s. It features a divorced main couple. The heroine retains her married name, which I believe was Pennington. There’s a long period of separation and then the story starts with him finding out that she’s using his last name and he wants her to change it. Sadly, I don’t remember either of their first names, only that the hero wasn’t happy she kept the married surname. Sound familiar?
  5. Archangel’s Sun Archangel’s Sun by Nalini Singh is $1.99! This is part of today’s Kindle Daily Deals and was released recently. This is book thirteen in the Guild Hunter series, which I think should probably be read in order. A horrifying secret rises in the aftermath of an archangelic war in New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh’s deadly and beautiful Guild Hunter world… The Archangel of Death and the Archangel of Disease may be gone but their legacy of evil lives on—especially
  6. Welcome back to Cover Awe! This is where we gawk at pretty covers. http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/WP/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/54330296._SY475_.jpg Cover design by Red Raven Book Design Tara: I can’t get over how beautiful this cover is. Shana: That is lovely. Sarah: I have questions about that lipstick. Specifically which one it is because wow Gorgeous pink/red. Sneezy: Yes! And it looks so simple at first glance but everything comes together to look so warm and lush! http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/WP/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/53184410._SY475_.jpg Cover design by The Killia
  7. A- A Psalm for the Wild Built by Becky Chambers July 13, 2021 · Tor.com NovellaScience Fiction/Fantasy TL;DR: if you like science fiction, comforting tales about comfort and care, and stories that are the literary version of warm late afternoon sunshine slanted through leafy branches on a day with perfect temperatures when all the biting insects are on vacation, you’ll like this. Sibling Dex has chosen a new path in life, and with the s
  8. Shrill Shrill by Lindy West is $3.99! This is a Kindle Daily Deal and is being price-matched. The book does deal with Lindy’s experience with eating, rape culture, and internet trolls, so there’s some pretty heavy stuff. It has a 4.1-star rating on Goodreads. Coming of age in a culture that demands women be as small, quiet, and compliant as possible–like a porcelain dove that will also have sex with you–writer and humorist Lindy West quickly discovered that she was anything but. From a pa
  9. http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/WP/wp-content/themes/smartbitches/images/posts/hide-your-wallet.jpg If you’re new to Hide Your Wallet, this is where we list new releases we’re pretty excited for in the coming month. Each reviewer has a book maximum (five per person), but we’ve separated HYW into two parts. The first HYW of the month will cover books that release from the 1st to the 14th. The second HYW will cover books released from the 15th to the end of the month. We also think this will help us feature books from smaller publishers who don’t have buy links up a
  10. Scandalous Scandalous by Minerva Spencer is $1.99! This is book three in the Outcasts series and I just love the colors and pop of the blue dress on the cover. I think Spencer’s romances are love ’em or hate ’em type books, as they use a lot of Old Skool tropes. How are those handled? What do you think? “Have you no decency?” Straight-laced missionary Sarah Fisher has never met a man like Captain Martin Bouchard. He is the most beautiful person—male or female—she’s ever seen. Overwhelming
  11. C Summer in the City of Roses by Michelle Ruiz Keil July 6, 2021 · Soho Teen LGBTQIARomanceYoung Adult CW/TW TW/CW: child abuse and neglect; allusions to and discussion of violence against sex workers; allusions to racist and homophobic language; intimate partner violence; drug and alcohol abuse; violence against animals Summer in the City of Roses by Michelle Ruiz Keil is an engaging YA fantasy romance that, while it lovingly flirts
  12. http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/WP/wp-content/themes/smartbitches/images/podcast/header_05c.jpg The transcript for Podcast 468. Romance and Video Games with Amanda and Sarah has been posted! This podcast transcript was handcrafted with meticulous skill by Garlic Knitter. Many thanks. ❤ Click here to subscribe to The Podcast → View the full article
  13. The Library of the Unwritten The Library of the Unwritten by A.J. Hackwith is $1.99! This is a Kindle Daily Deal and is being price-matched. Carrie read this one and gave it a C+, noting it was the wrong book for her at the time, as it’s dark and rather angsty. Have you read it? In the first book in a brilliant new fantasy series, books that aren’t finished by their authors reside in the Library of the Unwritten in Hell, and it is up to the Librarian to track down any restless characters w
  14. Amanda and I are chatting about our favorite romance-laden RPGs, and our favorite characters to romance in Stardew Valley, Dragons Ages (all of ‘em), Witcher 3, and more. We compare romance options, discuss favorite pairings, and yup, we really like Dragon Age. Moral of this episode: Don’t Bring Your Tits to a Gunfight. This is the TikTok we chortle about. … Music: Purple-Planet.com Listen to the podcast → Read the transcript → Here are the books we discuss in this podcast:
  15. http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/WP/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/ElyseBachelorette-150x125.pngHappy Bachelorette night! Somehow we’re cramming Hometowns and The Men Tell All into 2 hours. I’m already tired. [Ed. note: I am, too.] I have a BFC (big fuckin can) of cherry Whiteclaw and Pudding has a new catnip kicker. Judging from her expression she’s already feeling the ‘nip. http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/WP/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/image0-1-rotated-e1627508202596.jpeg Also there are like no photos of tonight’s episode. No idea what’s up with that. So we start off with Katie tellin
×
×
  • Create New...