A Writer’s Themes: Why and How Do They Keep Returning?

apples-feat2.jpg

When I was asked to contribute an essay to CrimeReads, I was given a choice between compiling a Reading List, or to come up with something pertaining to the Themes in my debut novel, Hollywood Hustle. I can tell you, I hate making lists (even for grocery shopping) but since I couldn’t get anything done without them, I make them anyway. And though, as a new author, I have found other author’s suggestion lists to be invaluable to me, being so new to this game I fear a reading list of my favorite books would be a mere echo of so many better curated ones. Kind of like a recipe for spaghetti: Everybody got one, you don’t need mine. But “Theme” is something I can get behind. 

I theorize that we writers return to the same themes again and again, whether we try to or not, or even whether we’re even aware of it or not. To go a bit further, their origin may be a complete mystery to us. An enigma. I know it is for me. But why do we tend to return to the same themes? A theme is more than a subject, concept, thread, or motif. It derives from the same personal, internal, creative source that our stories do. Without a doubt, the main theme in my book is Redemption. That word is generally defined as “the action of saving or being saved from sin, error, or evil.” In other words, an act that gives someone, being ourselves or someone our main character loves, a future that one can survive, and even thrive in. But what is the root of that redemptive act?