The Dos and Don’ts of Crafting an Ensemble Cast

multi-pov-feat.jpg

When I set out to write my second novel, A Step Part Darkness, I knew it was a lot more ambitious than my debut had been. Several elements made it more complicated: it has a dual-timeline with a separate but related mystery in each and it had an ensemble cast. Specifically, it had six main characters, each of whom would have their own POV in both timelines. When ensemble casts are good, they are so satisfying to readers, but when they are bad, they feel quite hollow, often because they’re rendered somewhat lifelessly—we’re simply told that this is the gang and that they’re bonded rather than this sentiment being earned through elbow grease.

A Step Past Darkness is very deliberately an homage to Stephen King’s It—I’m a King fan and like many King fans, it’s my favorite of his books. I studied it—its structure, what worked about it, and what didn’t. One of the things I deeply admire about the book is that despite there being seven main characters, each of them felt fully realized. I used to reread that book every year when I was in high school, but a couple years ago I returned to it for more of a craft study.

The way he does this is by introducing you to each character in chapters devoted to them in the first timeline in the 1950s. Yes, you are seeing how the Losers Club gets together, and the start of scary things happening, but each of those introductory chapters has deep interiority to them. You see each kid’s internal state, what they care about and what they fear, how they occupy their time and what their families are like. King naysayers, say your nays, but people who know his writing know that he cares about his characters. Particularly in It, you can feel the compassion he has for them, the tenderness with which he treats them, though this does not mean that they won’t face peril or even death.