Murder Mysteries, Magic, and Mashups

genre-mashup-feat.jpg

When the initial idea for These Deadly Prophecies was born, I had no idea how to go about penning a murder mystery.

This was a tad bit of a problem, since These Deadly Prophecies is, at its core, a whodunnit. A particularly bloody one, even! And here I was, its author, utterly unqualified for the position, with not a single hardboiled detective story on my writerly resume.

Let me take a moment to rewind. I was—and am—first and foremost an author of young adult fantasy and science fiction novels, by trade. I was a genre writer, but not the Agatha Christie or Dorothy L. Sayers sort. I’d read a handful of whodunnits, and consumed my fair share of TV procedurals, but never dared attempt to create detective fiction of my own. I’d always been intimidated by the prospect.

Still, I couldn’t deny that I loved the tight pacing and rollercoaster plot structure of a well-crafted mystery—a fact that struck me particularly hard as my agent Thao and I enthused over how much we’d loved Rian Johnson’s Knives Out. I’d fallen hard for Ana de Armas and Chris Evans’ magnetic chemistry as earnestly clever Marta and charmingly louche Ransom, and so had Thao—who, as good agents do, was egging me on to put what I loved into what I was writing.

Which, in this case, meant taking a stab (ha ha) at crafting my own harrowing little murder mystery—complete with my own tension-ridden yet frustratingly charming leads, neither of whom can quite figure out whether the other might be a cold-blooded killer.

The idea was intoxicating. It was also, at the time, terrifying. I wasn’t at all sure I could pull it off. Hard-boiled detective fiction was a far cry from the cybernetic dragons and fantastical court intrigue I was used to writing.

“You could still add magic to the book,” Thao had generously suggested. “A fantasy novel can also be a murder mystery.”