Sandie Jones: Why I Set My New Thriller in the World of Unscrupulous Journalists

press-feat1.jpg

I was brought up to believe that our country was governed by whichever party happened to be in office. That’s what my ancestors had instilled in the generations before me and the belief that I was intending to pass onto my own children. And if I hadn’t become a journalist, perhaps history would have continued repeating itself. But instead, I was astounded to discover that our rulers and politicians are merely the organ grinders monkeys, whilst the media is the conductor of the ensemble.

I’ve been interviewing celebrities for twenty-five years and I’d like to say that in that time, the media has moved with the times and changed its modus operandi when it comes to the lives they hold in their hands. But despite calls to protect the mental health and privacy of those they’re reporting on and supposed guidelines that they should now adhere to, you only need to look at recent headlines to see that they are still ignored. 

British tabloids in particular get a bad press, and rightly so. They are notoriously aggressive, far more than their US counterparts, and will pursue a story at all costs, regardless of the consequences. This is most likely due to the ‘Red Tops’ believing that they’re their own censors, having led the unprecedented charge for salacious gossip back in the 19th century, after the government relaxed the law around responsible reporting. Throw in the fact that it is now an over-populated market, where the most lascivious headlines are being fiercely fought over, and you have a swirling pit of ruthless journalists who will stop at nothing for a byline.