Realism and License in Legal Thrillers

legal1-feat.jpg

I make mistakes in all my books. Once I described the USS Intrepid as a battleship. A reader who had served on her during World War II set me straight that she was an aircraft carrier. Another time I had a character gazing out onto the Atlantic from the shores of Sag Harbor. A local told me that Sag Harbor is on the Long Island Sound, a tidal estuary of the Atlantic. (And yes, I had to look up what that meant.) 

There are others. A lot of others. 

All of my errors, however, are inadvertent. I do not take any literary license in my writing. 

Most of my books are legal thrillers, and I pride myself on getting the look and feel of the legal system exactly right. There are two main reasons for that. One is that I’m still a practicing lawyer, and I couldn’t bear it if my fellow members of the bar (or even worse, my clients) told me I was wrong about a legal issue. More importantly, I believe a realistic portrayal of the legal system is far more interesting than anything I could imagine.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s a place for license in fiction. It would be much less visually powerful if the lawyers on Law & Order held their courthouse press conferences in front of the actual criminal courthouse in New York City — which doesn’t have any steps — rather than while walking down the grand staircase that leads to the building that is actually the place that civil court cases are held. And the fact that no criminal defense lawyer worth his salt would ever permit his client to come within a million feet of a prosecutor should not deprive Jack McCoy the opportunity to deliver his plea offers directly to defendants on television.