Eight Weeks of Art Horror That Will Make You a Better Storyteller

midsommar-slider.jpg

When people ask me what books have influenced me as an author, I lose my voice. I would love to be able to rattle off a long list of the classics, the contemporary, experimental authors, literary giants, exciting debuts. Instead, I’m afraid I’m quite gauche. It’s not that I don’t read — I love books, I have always loved books. A beautiful scene, a snappy bit of dialogue, a plot that leaves you breathless or makes you question everything you thought you knew, chef’s kiss. But, if I’m honest, I spent much of my twenties working two, sometimes three jobs, most of which demanded a lot of my energy and when I got home and wanted to unwind, instead of reaching for a book (you try concentrating on a page after an eighteen-hour bar shift), I watched movies. Bad, I know, right? Positively shameful.

But, is it? Films, I quickly learned, have so much to teach about storytelling, if you just pay attention. They have a plot, a scene, characters, arcs. Yes, you won’t get a gorgeous descriptive paragraph, but you will learn how a camera angle can act as a vehicle to show point of view. You will feel what’s left out, or brought in, to a scene. And some scripts are heartrendingly beautiful! There’s a line where poetry and film get crossed, where real magic happens.