What’s The Difference Between Suspense and Mystery?

mystery-v-thriller.jpg

I’m often a bit confused as a reader when I enter a bookstore to look for a mystery and find myself in the suspense section. Now that I’m an author, I find it can still cause me to smile when my books are labeled as suspense and in my mind, they’re definitely more of a mystery. I’m not sure that there has ever been a firm definition provided as to the difference, but I’m going to take a stab at it. (Pun intended)

Suspense is high-octane, fast-paced, with a villain who has a relatively clear purpose. Mystery is riddled with questions, unclear villain, unclear motives, secrets, and a page-by-page discovery. It can also be a slow burn.

I think suspense is a more universal term for anything that includes death, murder, action, fear, and adventure. But let’s not underestimate these fundamental differences in a story. While a suspense novel and a mystery novel may both sport a murder victim, in suspense, more likely than not, the scene will take the reader catapulting through the situation, riddle them with horror, and often include car chases, running, gun fire, and or the deeply intense forensic investigative scenes as found in a lot of law enforcement thrillers. In a mystery, the scene will often take a slower pace, small details hinting toward larger clues that become big pieces to an overarching puzzle. Questions of motives, suspects, and unknown dangers lurk around the corners. It can even take a more literary approach in tone as well, sometimes being prone to longer and more psychological descriptions.

Still, both suspense and mystery can be thrillers. A good way to itemize these would be a suspense thriller could very well land you reading a novel about Jack Reacher, while a mystery thriller can have you following the paths of Inspector Poirot.