The Many Levels of Mystery: ‘Whodunnit?’ to ‘Whydunnit?’ and Beyond

AdobeStock_327386778.jpeg

I didn’t know I was a mystery writer until my editor informed me. Finding out started me thinking about the nature of mystery generally and the mystery story in particular. In time I decided I was more interested in Mystery than in mystery and that the distinction is significant both for writers and for readers.

Mystery is one of the largest categories of human experience. It is so because the human brain is so-constructed as to be obsessed with the not-yet-known. The brain always seeks to know “what comes next and what does it mean?” Meaning, in this sense, ranges from “Is there danger in that unexpected sound?” to “Is there something more to reality than what the senses can detect and measurement prove?” Which is to say, there is mystery and then there is Mystery.

In an important sense every story—hence every literary narrative—is a mystery story. Without mystery there is no plot—the “what happens next” of every story. All storytelling, from lit to history to theology to memoir to science writing, involves the sequential release of information, the more skillful of which appeals to the brain’s hunger for connections.

As I say, I did not know I was a mystery writer until my editor told me so after reading my first novel and then announcing it on the cover of my second. It’s my own fault. If you don’t want to thought a mystery writer, don’t title your novel Death Comes for the Deconstructionist and do not produce a dead body. And do not, in an allusion to Shakespeare, title the second, Do We Not Bleed?