Colin Cotterill Is on a Mission to Write Something That Will Make You Shout with Glee

projector-feat.jpg

I’ve never been much of a reader. As a published writer I suppose I should be embarrassed to confess such a thing. But it’s true. As a lad I was too impatient to nuzzle down with a good book. There were too many distractions; girls to chase, balls to kick, cigarettes to choke on. I relied on television and cinema to stoke my cultural development. Those were the days when the TV had to warm up before you got a picture. There were only two channels. For the modest cost of a television license, you could enjoy the dramatic marvels of the BBC and watch hours of sport. Then there were the affordable Saturday morning picture shows. I was a proud minor of the ABC cinema on Wimbledon High Street where I would go… “To see the films we love and shout aloud with glee.” (Song.) We idolized Flash Gordon in black and white, Tom and Jerry, the Three Stooges. Me and Johnny Dukes would stage sword fights on the way home and practice unhelpful dialogue like, “Avast ye scallywags.” Who needed Steinbeck when you had Errol Flynn? 

I grew up, as boys must, and found new outlets to shout aloud with glee…about. You learned to appreciate cinema as a venue. You could save up for a month, buy a packet of chocolate raisins, and canoodle with your girlfriend in the back row of the stalls. One eye always trained on the screen in case you missed something. Then there was cinema as a form of education. If you didn’t have a special lady, you could charcoal on a moustache and sneak into stinky airless adult cinemas and fill in the gaps of what they didn’t tell you at school. And soon you didn’t need to go to the cinema at all. There was a whole new world of motion pictures packaged in plastic cassettes on tape that unfurled like wayward spaghetti at crucial plot moments. Who needed books? My visual cortex was rampant.