Four Books to Try to Understand Why Children Kill

children-who-kill.jpg

I remember my first editor asked if I worked in social work, psychiatry or the law. In fact, I have no direct experience in any of these fields but I continue to return to the complexity of these overlapping professional areas in my novels.

My books shine a light on dark corners and are often described as ‘why-dunnits’ rather than ‘who-dunnits’. My stories are about characters trying to come to terms with what they have done or what has been done to them. Every novel I have written is an attempt to understand. The central story at the heart of my new novel, The Innocent One is about a young man trying to make his way in the world, after being tried as a child for the murder of another little boy. It asks if criminals are born or made, the classic nature-nurture debate.

When the characters in my novel were first taking shape, the newspapers in the UK were full of articles about two young boys from South Yorkshire in England who had beaten, tortured and nearly killed another pair of boys – actions that the sentencing judge described as ‘prolonged and sadistic violence.’  The newspapers were vociferous at the time, invoking other children who had killed. It was a chance for the press to revisit ‘the Bulger case’ from 1993: video film of toddler, James Bulger, being led by two older children from a Liverpool shopping mall to be tortured and killed on a patch of waste ground had been cast around the world, making the two eleven-year-old killers infamous.

An older British case was also regurgitated by the newspapers at the time –  a trial from the late 1950s of ten-year-old Mary Bell who was convicted of strangling two little boys aged four and three.

All of these child perpetrators were quickly decried as ‘evil’ before being tried as adults in the British legal system. There was no attempt to consider whether it was right to subject them to the formality of an adult jury trial.