On Abortion, Murder, and Patriarchal Definitions

my-body-my-choice-feat.jpeg

Am I a murderer?

Many Republican lawmakers would claim that I am. Since the U. S. Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade in June, already 18 states have criminalized abortion and elected leaders in over half the states are attempting to do so. “Personhood” laws in Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Kansas, Missouri, and Texas make an embryo eligible for child support and tax credits. Many in our government acknowledge no distinction between a human toddler and fetal matter, attached by an umbilical cord to someone else’s uterus. Abortion, these lawmakers insist, is homicide.

In the spring of 2010, I had an abortion eight weeks into an unwanted pregnancy. I was a healthy 25-year-old student working on my Ph.D. dissertation, with secure housing and plenty of financial support. I knew I wanted to become a parent eventually. And I knew, as clearly as I’d ever known anything, that I didn’t want to continue that pregnancy.

About one in four American women has had an abortion. Most of us have family members, friends, and doctors who helped us make that decision, drove us to appointments, and provided care. Fetal “personhood” laws make all of us murderers and accessories to murder. In this country, we punish convicted murderers. We put them in cages, locked away from their loved ones, ostensibly to deter other would-be murderers and protect the rest of us. Most states where abortion is a crime currently uphold the death penalty. Indeed, last year in Texas, five male lawmakers authored a bill that would have made getting an abortion punishable by death.

Should the government punish this enormous portion of our population? If so, to what end? Certainly not for the sake of community safety; abortion access is directly linked to a decrease in crime rates. Abortion-havers and abortion-seekers pose no threat to any other citizen’s existence.