The Psychology of Fandom

fandom-feat.jpeg

During my tenure as a psychology professor, I spent a lot of time making casual conversation with other scientists about my research. “What do you study?” they’d ask. My answer: the psychology of fiction and the imagination. “And lately,” I would say, “I’ve been really fascinated with the psychology of fandom.”

That led to an inevitable question, often said with a look of puzzlement: What is fandom?

Fandom, I would explain, is a self-identified collective of individuals who are highly emotionally and imaginatively invested in a media property. To psychologists, this definition immediately communicates the three underlying psychologies at play: group psychology (since fandom is a collective); the psychology of identity; and the psychology of media. As a writer myself, I was fascinated with the question of how and why fandoms arise around some properties. What was it about some stories that inspired such passion and imagination? And what was it about some readers or viewers that made them the kind of audience that invests incredible amounts of emotion, imagination, and creativity in their favorite stories?

To get at these questions as a scientist, I started with the first step of the scientific method: observation. At the time I started my own research program, most of the prior research on media fandoms per se came from outside of psychology, from disciplines like sociology, anthropology, media studies, and gender studies. That existing body of research, along with research on the psychology of groups, identity, and media engagement—plus my own first-hand experiences with fandom—formed the basis for my initial observations. From there, I dove into the second step of the scientific method: generating a theory.