Writing a Romance versus Writing a Mystery

pencils-feat.jpg

Is there that big a difference between falling in love and solving a murder? 

Um, yes, there is, especially when writing about love and murder. For me, it’s not just about content but about the craft and process of writing in those separate genres. I find it fascinating that although I’ve been writing for over twenty years, my beginning process for writing cozy mysteries is vastly different than it is for writing in the romance genre. 

I started writing romances because I love to read them. It’s not a billion dollar industry for nothing! Comprised of formulaic and original plots, as well as a guaranteed happily ever after (HEA,) the genre breeds voracious readers who want engaging lead characters, a romantic main plot, and that all-important HEA (or HFN—happily for now, which has become accepted in the genre.) 

Some writers like to plot. Other write by the “seat of their pants”—otherwise known as pantsers. When I first began writing, I tried outlining and plotting before the story, but I’d eventually veer off to wherever my characters took me. Now, I start a book with character A and character B, but I don’t know how they fall in love and overcome obstacles to end with their HEA.

Twenty years of writing romance had given me an interesting perspective into the genre and its subgenres. I write contemporary romance, paranormal romance, and romantic suspense. They all share common tropes, such as: enemies to lovers, fated mates, secret baby, fake boyfriend, etc. I’m constantly amazed at how difficult—and fun!—it can be to write the same tropes over and over and still come out with different stories. And let’s not forget that cozy mysteries always have a mystery—typically a murder—that needs to be solved. In every book. 

But an engaging read has to do with character, which to me, is the most important part of quality genre fiction.