Nadine Matheson: In the Mind of a Killer

mind-killer-feat.jpg

If you were to read my biography on my website or the jacket of my latest novel, The Binding Room, you would learn that I am a Criminal Defence lawyer who lives in London. For almost twenty years, I’ve been defending people who have been accused of crimes that even the darkest corners of most people’s minds would reject as pure fiction. The majority of people assume, rightly or wrongly, that my legal experience would place me in the best position to put me in the mind of a criminal.  I wouldn’t say that they were right, but my legal career has placed me in a unique position.

One of the first things I learnt as a young criminal lawyer was to make sure that I always was the one sitting closest to the door. The point of this simple lesson was obvious. If you were sitting in a small interview room and your disgruntled client decided to ‘kick off’ (as we would say in the UK) i.e. become violent, then you wouldn’t have to be leaping over tables and pushing aside chairs to make a getaway. The second lesson that I leant was that ‘appearances are always deceiving’ and the final lesson was ‘assume nothing’. However, it’s the second lesson, that appearances are deceiving, that I’m going to focus on and which will allow us to fully get into the mind of a criminal or a killer.