Lisa Levy Signs Off with a Final Column: 5 Psychological Thrillers to Read This Month

best-psychological-thrillers-march-2023.

My third Canadian winter is my first with Permanent Residency, my first with provincial health insurance, my first real attempt to enjoy winter via talking up cross-country skiing. I’m not good at it, but I hope someday I will be, which is a fairly accurate description of how I approach new ventures. Not with anything as hokey as beginner’s mind, but with the confidence that between my reading and thinking and writing I can find something new to say.  Unfortunately, I cannot read, write, or think myself into becoming an excellent skier.

I wax philosophically because I am stepping down from my perch at Lit Hub/Crime Reads. Seven years ago, when Jonny Diamond contacted me about starting crime coverage at Lit Hub, I recognized it as a real chance to continue the work of elevating the critical conversation around true crime and crime fiction. Lit Hub begat Crime Reads in 2018, and I’m proud of what I’ve helped to conceptualize and build. Yet I am keen to explore new back alleys, no-tell motels, and dive bars. My passion for crime fiction is too deep for me to just walk away. My blood runs noir.

I will be around in some august and unexpected places (announcements will follow on my socials). I will also be working on my book about the history, culture, and literature of migraine—my constant companion; my mortal enemy; my nemesis. Migraine is the dominant mystery in my life, and I am both the victim and the detective who must solve it.

Good luck solving your mysteries. Or just keep reading.

Screen-Shot-2023-03-15-at-3.50.19-PM-198

Vibhuti Jain, Our Best Intentions
(William Morrow)