Our Own Devices: Sean Doolittle on Writing a Thriller About Technology

tech-thrillers-feat.jpg

I graduated college in the mid-1990’s, right around the same time my wife and I got our first Internet-capable PC. My first job out of school was writing for a consumer computer magazine, where we did stories with angles like “Do you really need e-mail?” and “World Wide Whatnow?”

Now, most of us walk around with the world in our pockets. For me, there are days when the interval between then and now feels like a jump cut. It’s hard to believe that the type of touchscreen smartphone so many of us rely on today didn’t even exist until 2007—literally one generation of teenagers ago—when part of me is still a young adult myself, fresh out of school, watching “the Web” fill in around me.

And yet these devices now seem indispensable even to the basic logistics of life: communicating, getting from one place to another, generally getting things done. I couldn’t count all the times I’ve asked myself, in the last 15 years: “How did we manage to do all this before?”

I imagine people must have felt something similar after the arrival of the car or the television; culture-quaking inventions tend to have that effect. And when it comes to changing a culture quickly, few inventions of my lifetime can compete with the viral efficiency of social media.

In the social media era, we can connect with each other around the world more easily than ever. We can share knowledge and ideas with more people faster. We can teach each other, entertain each other, inspire and support each other in ways we never could before.