5 Books Featuring (Possibly) Murderous Children

we-need-to-talk-about-kevin.jpeg

I’m not a risk-taker. I’m careful and safety-conscious to a fault. But as a writer, I have the freedom to take infinite risks on the page. In my stories, I can explore things I never would in real life.

Often, I write about the things that scare me most. I want to understand them, to experience them in a safe and controlled way. In A MOTHER WOULD KNOW I asked myself the question: what I would I do if I suspected one of my children had done the unthinkable? How would I react?

As a mom, I’m fiercely protective of my children. But what if I was faced with something I shouldn’t protect them from?

Here are five other books with that same theme in mind.

The-Good-Son-198x300.jpg

The Good Son by Jacquelyn Mitchard

This heart-wrenching story begins with Thea picking her son Stefan up from prison where he’s served the last three years for murdering his girlfriend. Although her son was only seventeen when his girlfriend was killed and doesn’t recall any of it because he was severely under the influence of mind-altering drugs, she still has a difficult time reconciling the monstrous act with the son she raised. She waffles between feelings of resentment, betrayal, guilt and shame. But underneath it all is disbelief. There is a primal need inside of Thea to disprove her son’s involvement and to clear his name. Mitchard did an exquisite job with Thea’s character, and I empathized with her journey so much.

Baby Teeth Zoje Stage

Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage