Jump to content

A Freebie, a Series Starter, & More


Recommended Posts

How Sweet It Is

B08MZV7FFN.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

How Sweet It Is by Dylann Newton is $1.99! It’s a Kindle Daily Deal. I believe this was Newton’s debut. It’s an opposites attract romance between a horror writer and a wedding planner. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one!

Opposites attract in this charming debut romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Beach Read.

Kate Sweet is famous for creating the perfect happily-ever-after moment for her clients’ dream weddings. So how is it that her best friend has roped her into planning a bestselling horror writer’s book launch?

Drake Matthews is tired of the spotlight, tired of his reputation as the King of Nightmares. He’s really a nice guy! More than anything, the next book he wants to write is a romance based on his grandparents. But to get that chance, this event has to be successful. And the reticent writer will have to work with the adorably bubbly Kate Sweet.

But just as the two are learning to trust each other, secrets come out that could take down the launch, their relationship, and both their careers. Can Kate find a way to save their jobs and their chance at true love?

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Sometimes I Trip On How Happy We Could Be

B08PV5DR4F.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Sometimes I Trip On How Happy We Could Be by Nichole Perkins is $2.99! It’s also part of today’s Kindle Daily Deals. Both Maya and Aarya mentioned this in an August edition of Hide Your Wallet. I also love this illustrated cover.

Pop culture is the Pandora’s Box of our lives. Racism, wealth, poverty, beauty, inclusion, exclusion, and hope — all of these intractable and unavoidable features course through the media we consume. Examining pop culture’s impact on her life, Nichole Perkins takes readers on a rollicking trip through the last twenty years of music, media and the internet from the perspective of one southern Black woman. She explores her experience with mental illness and how the TV series Frasier served as a crutch, how her role as mistress led her to certain internet message boards that prepared her for current day social media, and what it means to figure out desire and sexuality and Prince in a world where marriage is the only acceptable goal for women.

Combining her sharp wit, stellar pop culture sensibility, and trademark spirited storytelling, Nichole boldly tackles the damage done to women, especially Black women, by society’s failure to confront the myths and misogyny at its heart, and her efforts to stop the various cycles that limit confidence within herself. By using her own life and loves as a unique vantage point, Nichole humorously and powerfully illuminates how to take the best pop culture has to offer and discard the harmful bits, offering a mirror into our own lives.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Naked in Death

B000P2A47M.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Naked in Death by J.D. Robb, the book that introduced Eve and Roarke, is $1.99! If you’ve never read this series, this is a terrific opportunity to start. The series is a unique combination romantic suspense and futuristic thriller – it’s set in New York in 2058. And it introduced one of the most-beloved heroes in romance.

In a world of danger and deception, she walks the line–between seductive passion and scandalous murder…Eve Dallas is a New York police lieutenant hunting for a ruthless killer. In over ten years on the force, she’s seen it all–and knows her survival depends on her instincts.

And she’s going against every warning telling her not to get involved with Roarke, an Irish billionaire–and a suspect in Eve’s murder investigation. But passion and seduction have rules of their own, and it’s up to Eve to take a chance in the arms of a man she knows nothing about–except the addictive hunger of needing his touch.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Wanderlust

B07BK2GT56.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Wanderlust by Lauren Blakely is FREE! While this is kind of an opposites attract romance, I also want to note that everyone should try the audiobook. It is narrated by none other than Richard Armitage. Yes, that Richard Armitage.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lauren Blakely comes a sexy new standalone romance…

The first time I met him, his sexy British accent almost talked me into giving him my number on the spot. The second time, he nearly charmed the panties off me with his wit. Then I learned he’s the key to success in my new job in Paris. The man who tempts me into fling-worthy dirty daydreams has turned out to be my personal translator, and his accent is the hottest thing I’ve ever heard.

My mantra is simple — Don’t mix business with pleasure. I do my best to resist him as he teaches me how to converse with my co-workers, navigate the metro and order the perfect bottle of wine at dinner. But I also figure out how to tell the charming and clever man what I most want to say — that I want him to take me back to his flat — tonight.

Except there’s a catch…

***
One more assignment before I take off on my big adventure…

And it involves the toughest work ever — resisting the fetching American woman I spend all my days with. But you know what they say about best intentions. Soon, we’re spending our nights tangled together, and I don’t want to let her go. The trouble is, my wanderlust is calling to me, and before we know it I’ll be traveling the globe to fulfill a promise I made long ago.

What could possibly go wrong with falling in love in Paris? Nothing…unless one of you is leaving.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 0
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share










ALGONKIAN SUCCESS STORIES



WTF is Wrong With Stephen King?















×
×
  • Create New...