The Ultimate Crime Story: Punishing the Pillagers of Our Planet

climate-change-feat.jpeg

I’ve been frustrated for a long time. For ten years I was an editor at Scientific American, where I wrote articles and editorials about climate change, urging the government to crack down on planet-warming pollution. For the most part, the reaction was paralysis. Just a few weeks ago, the Supreme Court stripped away the U.S. government’s most powerful tool for reducing greenhouse-gas emissions, and now the threat of a hotter, stormier, increasingly uninhabitable Earth seems almost inevitable.

So, in desperation, I decided to try something new. I wrote The Doomsday Show, a novel that dramatizes the most ruthless and effective way to curb global warming: assassinating the fossil-fuel tycoons who refuse to transition to renewable energy. It’s a crime thriller, but it’s also a dark satire, and for inspiration I relied on a few groundbreaking thrillers that portrayed equally desperate attempts to save the natural world.