Amina Akhtar and Erin Mayer Talk Fashion and Murder

amina-and-erin.jpg

Amina Akhtar and Erin Mayer have had fashion and media careers that people dream about. Between them, they’ve worked at every major publication, including Vogue, The Cut, Elle, Bustle, NYTimes.com and more. But they both also made the leap from fashion/celebrity editor to thriller writer. We had to know more!

The author of Fan Club and the author of Kismet (out 8/1) interviewed each other to talk about their experiences, and why, exactly, fashion inspires so much rage.

amina-kismet-300x150.jpg 

Questions from Amina Akhtar:

Whats your fashion/media background?

Erin Mayer: I have been working in media since 2014. I’ve freelanced for a variety of publications, and was previously an Associate Fashion and Beauty Editor at Bustle.com.

Amina Akhtar: I feel like we all always have so many publications we can list off! I started at Vogue, went digital, worked at Style.com (RIP!), NYTimes.com, and then helped launch The Cut blog for NYMAG. Also worked at Elle.com and Vogue.com.

What made you decide to write a thriller?

EM: It sort of happened by accident! I have always loved crime fiction and horror, so my fiction writing is naturally infused with dread, but initially I thought I was going to write a more typical “millennial workplace novel.” Once I settled on the plot also being about celebrity obsession (Fan Club follows a disgruntled 20-something woman who fixates on an international pop star and falls in with a cult-like group of superfans) it dove-tailed with, well, murder.

AA: Same with me. I didn’t set out thinking I’m now going to be a thriller writer. I just thought it would be funny to write a book about a serial killer in fashion. And to be honest, I wasn’t doing much. I was in a low point and I needed to refocus myself. I rediscovered my love of writing. And the rest is history.