Ghost in the Machine...I Mean, Novel!

As some of you may already be aware, I am a fan of the paranormal. I am an avid ghost hunter and paranormal researcher. I collect haunted objects (yes, I willingly bring haunted things into my home) and the three-book series that I have been crafting for the past two years, is based on the paranormal. I am a voracious reader of ghost tales, and I have just recently researched Native American belief systems and their link to the paranormal which greatly helped me to establish my beliefs on spirits.

In my last post, I gave four tips on how to write about paranormal experiences. What I would like to do in this piece is talk about the function of a ghost or entity in your writing. I like to break down ghosts/entities into four different categories: 

1. The Plain Old Run of the Mill Ghost.

This is the spirit of a person who has passed away but was unable to move on to the next life. It does not break its bonds with the physical world.

2. A Haunting Apparition

This is a physical representation of the protagonist's disturbed psyche, and it torments them in the following ways:

a.Dreams that keep coming back.

b.The recollection of prior humiliation and traumatic experiences brought on by a current event.

c. daydreams

d. hallucinations, either auditory or visual in nature

e.When viewed from the outside, the protagonist appears to have paranoid thoughts; yet, the protagonist believes that their encounter with the haunting is all too genuine.

This is by far, my favorite spirit to work with when I write. It lends itself to many subplots and can be a gateway for genre overlap. For example, thriller or crime novel can easily be transformed into a paranormal tale by a tormented soul. Take for example, Odd Thomas. An unassuming fry cook can save hundreds of people because of his paranormal experiences. 

3. A Haunting Run of the Mill Ghost