Jump to content

Book Beat: Picture Books, Retellings, & More


Recommended Posts

http://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/WP/wp-content/themes/smartbitches/images/posts/hide-your-wallet.jpg

Welcome to Book Beat!

Book Beat aims to highlight other books that we may hear about through friends, social media, or other sources. We could see a gorgeous ad! Or find a new-to-us author on a list of underrated romances! Think of Book Beat as Teen Beat or Tiger Beat, but for books. And no staples to open to get the fold-out poster.

The Cat Proposed

The Cat Proposed by Dento Hayane

Author: Dento Hayane
Released: December 28, 2021 by LOVE x LOVE
Genre: LGBTQIA, Manga

Matoi Souta is an overworked office worker tired of his life. Then, on his way home from a long day of work one day, he decides to watch a traditional Japanese play. But something strange happens. He could have sworn he saw one of the actors has cat ears.

It turns out that the man is actually a bakeneko  a shapeshifting cat from Japanese folklore. And then, the cat speaks: “From now on, you will be my mate.”

Source: Sale post

I saw this manga previously as apart of some sales and made a note of it because it seems in the vein of the Bitchery.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

Lord of Eternal Night

Lord of Eternal Night by Ben Alderson

Author: Ben Alderson
Released: September 4, 2021
Genre: LGBTQIA, Romance, Science Fiction/Fantasy
Series: Darkmourn Universe #1

Perfect for fans of From Blood and Ash and A Shade of Vampire – but with added spice!

Jak’s life has only one meaning; break the curse or die trying.

Marius’s life has no meaning; not since he was cursed into the twisted, blood thirsty creature of night.

For years the witches have waited for their salvation, a way to return the magic that was sacrificed when the curse was first cast. Jak, a boy born with power that the witches have not seen in a century, is their prophesied saviour. The one who is to kill the creature, break the curse and restore magic to his coven.

Sent to the creature’s castle as the final Claim, Jak must get close enough to land the final blow. It is what he has trained all his life to accomplish.

Not all is as it seems when Jak uncovers secrets and half-truths. The creature is not the haunting beast he had been brought up to hate. Emotions war as new feelings are uncovered. For what is more dangerous than hate? Lust.

Lord of Eternal Night is a complete, M/M *stand-alone novel*, inspired by Beauty and the Beast… with added bite.

Source: @BenAldersonBook on Twitter

Gay paranormal retellings!

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

Noodle and the No Bones Day

Noodle and the No Bones Day by Jonathan Graziano

Author: Jonathan Graziano
Released: June 7, 2022 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Genre: Picture Books

From the creator of the viral “Bones or No Bones” TikTok videos comes a sweet and entertaining picture book following Noodle the pug and his human as they navigate Noodle’s first No Bones Day—a day for being kind to yourself!

Noodle is a sweet, silly old pug who enjoys doing all his favorite activities with his favorite human, Jonathan. But one day when Jonathan goes to take Noodle on his morning walk, he finds Noodle still comfortable in bed. When Jonathan lifts Noodle up, Noodle just flops over. It’s almost like Noodle woke up without any bones!

Noodle isn’t sick or sad—but he also isn’t interested in going for walks or sitting outside (he will accept snacks, though). Today, all he needs are extra snuggles and belly rubs. Jonathan soon learns that not every day can be a Bones Day, and sometimes a No Bones Day is exactly what you need to get through the week.

Source: Bookstore

Someone special ordered this one and as someone who is a huge fan of Noodles on TikTok, I was surprised I hadn’t known about this! It’s so cute.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

Perception Check

Perception Check by Astrid Knight

Author: Astrid Knight
Released: May 24, 2022
Genre: LGBTQIA, Science Fiction/Fantasy
Series: The Mages of Velmyra #1

Her favorite tabletop roleplaying game is real, and her kidnapped childhood best friend is trapped in a far off land. Will she be able to save her? Let’s roll initiative!

Violet Spence wants nothing more than to have a normal life. After witnessing her childhood best friend get abducted by monsters, that’s easier said than done. At twenty-three years old, Violet cannot seem to move past that fateful night ten years ago. Her only solace is Mages of Velmyra, a tabletop roleplaying game filled with goblins, fairies, and all-powerful magicians. But of course, that’s all fantasy.

Or, so she thought. As it turns out, the land of Velmyra is very real and the home of the monsters that took her best friend.

With the help of her friends (and the creator of the game itself), Violet must navigate the once-fictional creatures and powerful mages of Velmyra to retrieve a set of ancient relics—all in the hopes that the journey will lead her back to her friend. But for Violet, fighting monsters and magic workers doesn’t seem nearly as terrifying as confronting her own demons. And she’ll soon realize fighting the battle within herself can be just as tough as those fought against demigods.

Perception Check is the magical first installment of the Mages of Velmyra Saga, great for fans of Dungeons and Dragons, Critical Role, and The Magicians. With endearing and hilarious characters, an exploration of mental health and trauma, LGBTQ+ representation, gut-wrenching twists, and a whirlwind of an ending, you will never want to leave the world of Velmyra.

NOTE: Perception Check deals with the topics of mental health (specifically depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress disorder, and suicidality) with mentions of childhood sexual assault, alcohol abuse, and animal violence.

Source: Goodreads ad

The main character finds our her D&D campaign location is  real place and  must rescue her BFF!

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 0
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share










ALGONKIAN SUCCESS STORIES



WTF is Wrong With Stephen King?















×
×
  • Create New...