Murder Isn’t Funny. But Gallows Humor Is!

morgue-feat.jpeg

Did you ever want to murder someone? (I’m talking fiction here. I’m an author, not a marriage counselor.)

I think about killing people all the time — who, where, how. If you’ve ever uttered the words “Colonel Mustard in the billiard room with the wrench,” you know what I’m talking about.

I’ve planned hundreds of murders, and never once have I thought, “how do I mine comedy gold out of this guy’s brutal demise?”

And yet, James Patterson (my partner in crime in the NYPD RED series) has said, “Marshall Karp is the only author I know who can get big laughs out of murdering someone.”

With all due respect to James, that’s not 100 percent accurate. When I whack someone, I don’t want you to double over and slap your knee. There are no laughs when the rope tightens around someone’s neck, compressing their carotid arteries as they desperately claw at their throat.

That’s because murder isn’t funny. In real life, it’s devastating. And in fiction, it’s not something I can milk for laughs.

What is funny—in life and on the page—is how people cope with the savagery and finality of a senseless homicide.

Call it gallows humor, or black comedy, or whistling past the graveyard—it’s human nature to laugh in the face of death.

Not every author risks it. It’s a slippery slope because, if your timing is off or your sensitivities are out of tune, your bon mot is just going to lie there like a rotten egg.

If you Google “book genres,” you’ll find that there are 18, or 24, or 35, or more, depending on which website you trust. And while “Mystery,” “Suspense,” and “Thriller” are on all of them, “Crime Fiction That Makes You Laugh Out Loud” isn’t. It’s not even a subgenre like “Cozy,” or “Legal Thriller,” or “Hardboiled.”