AdobeStock_242852334.jpeg

As someone who reads widely across genres, I’ve found the books I most enjoy tend to transcend genres. This is, of course, a personal preference and there are lots of readers who love the predictability of tight genres that hew close to conventions. As a writer, I find the whole notion of identifying genre at an early stage is suffocating to ideas and creativity. As a result, I largely ignore it until the editing process. It does make it difficult to pitch a new idea, so often I just have to write the book and then let my agent work out where to go from there. I have common trends: strong female characters, relationships between characters that have real depth, emotional challenges. But when mooting an idea and I get asked ‘So is this a reading club-type, or a psych thriller, or crime?’ I really have no idea. I haven’t written it yet and I won’t know until I have. What I do have are outline characters and also typical readers in my mind, but I typically operate somewhere in the midst of all those genres. I admire writers like Jodi Picoult who transcends genre and just does her own thing in her own way. I don’t feel a compelling need to read everything she writes, though I’ve enjoyed some of her books very much, but what I love is how she has her own style and vision. I find that so refreshing.