6 Thrillers That Will Fool the Most Seasoned Readers

shock-feat1.jpg

My love for twists started at a young age when I cracked open my first Lois Duncan novel. I couldn’t believe the thrill I could get from reading a book, nor how exciting it was to follow along with a story while making my own predictions as to how it would end. Then I started encountering the ‘knock you off your feet’ twists in books and in film. You know? The twist that leaves your jaw hanging open, that has you questioning how you didn’t see it coming, or how the writer pulled it off. I’ve always been a reader that picks up on the clues carefully laid out and the red herrings that were tossed in to pique my suspicion, so when a twist comes along that I don’t see coming, it truly is special.

As a thriller author, I also know how hard it is to pull off a twist. There’s a fine balance between leaving enough clues and hints, but not too many. There’s also the skill of delivering a twist that makes plausible sense, not something out of left field. Then, there’s timing. When do you hit the reader with the jaw-dropping moment to have the biggest impact—while also feeling it was earned?

When I wrote my debut novel, The Perfect Marriage, I knew I wanted to attempt to produce that ‘knock you off your feet twist’ that I had grown to love as a reader. I spent a great deal of time refining and finessing clues, red herrings, and suspects to ensure everything was in place to deliver a well-crafted and shocking twist. For my upcoming suspense novel, One of Us is Dead, I knew I needed to live up to the big twist that readers and fans of my debut novel loved. So, I found myself rewriting the ending many times in order to land on the most surprising yet earned conclusion.

It’s a fun experience crafting a twist, but it’s even more fun to read a twist that throws you completely off guard. In no particular order, here are the six thrillers that I believe will fool even the most seasoned readers.