C. S. Harris on Historical Fiction and Her Iconic Regency-Era Series

cs-harris-interview.jpg

C. S. Harris, the pen name of Candice Proctor, is the author of the Sebastian St. Cyr novels, set during the Regency Era and featuring the dashing youngest son of a Viscount who inherits a title, and a wealth of responsibilities, after the death of his two brothers, all while solving plenty of crimes. C. S. Harris was kind enough to answer a few questions ahead of the release of her latest novel. 

Molly Odintz: Regency Romances are all the rage again these days. What do you enjoy when it comes to writing a Regency-era sleuth?

C. S. Harris: Because I have a PhD in European history with the French Revolution and Napoleonic eras as my particular areas of focus, I knew I wanted to set my mystery series in that period. For many people, the Regency means balls and carriages and gorgeous filmy dresses, and there’s no denying that’s a huge part of its appeal. But it’s a fascinating age for so many other reasons. It was a time of tremendous change and stress. For much of the period, Britain was at war, with all the political unrest and economic pressures that entails. It was also a time that saw a huge societal shift, from the relatively free-thinking days of the late eighteenth century to the kind of severe, repressive mores that would come to characterize the Victorian era and the darkness of the dawning industrial age. So you have this narrow slice of time that was overshadowed by war and upheaval, and yet was at the same time so vibrant, so different, and filled with incredible people like Goethe and Beethoven, Ingres and Delacroix, Blake and Byron. It’s a wonderful setting for mysteries.

MO: You write romance as well. How does writing love stories compare to writing mysteries?