The Best Chocolates for Crime Lovers (And Their Favorite Sleuths)

rae-wallis-gOyJlO56j-Y-unsplash.jpg

CrimeReads asked me to write a post, and as soon as I read the suggested title, I went to the corner drugstore and bought two nine-ounce packages of Coffee Nut M&Ms. I needed inspiration.

There are such a lot of ways to eat chocolate. I should know. I was born loving chocolate. And, like every author, I was a reader before I was a writer, and I loved stories before I could read them.

My mother used to tell the following one.

“When she was around three, JoAnna’s special treat was chocolate milk, which she called ‘choc.’ One afternoon, I was reading, and she came to me and asked for ‘choc.’ And I answered, ‘As soon as I finish my chapter.’

“And she said, ‘When I ask for choc,’ you always say, ‘as soon as I finish my chapter.’”

My mother always laughed at that point, but I think she was a little embarrassed. I’ve never understood why she should feel that way. I had apparently learned to link chocolate with reading before I could read at all. And there’s no reason people can’t have both pleasures.  Eating chocolate and reading mysteries are both parts of the ideal world. I’m extremely grateful that my mother loved to read, loved to read mysteries, and also loved chocolate.

I still like chocolate milk, but maybe not as much as I like Coffee Nut M&Ms. I’m certainly not recommending either of those particular chocolate treats for all writers or readers.

Since I write about high-priced, elegant chocolates, I suppose I ought to emphasize the snazzier ones, the ones nibbled by the characters in my books, the Chocoholic Mysteries. And I do love those, too. However, the mid-sized city I live in doesn’t contain a fancy chocolate shop. When I long for an elegant chocolate, I either have to order it or drive a hundred miles. This is inconvenient and expensive. So, I fall back on the candy aisle in the local drugstore and on mass market chocolates. I make out fine.