Five Thrillers That Will Make You Delete Your Social Media Accounts Forever

social-media-is-a-nightmare.jpg

In the fall of 2014, a seismic event crippled an entertainment giant and tantalized Hollywood gossip voyeurs everywhere. A group identifying itself as “Guardians of Peace” stole massive amounts of data from Sony Pictures Entertainment in a brazen cyberattack that was elevated all the way to the Oval Office. Thanks to carefully orchestrated leaks, phrases like “a minimally talented spoilt brat” (poor Angelina…) and “the masturbatory call is a wank I have no time for” were pulled from executives’ private emails and splashed all over newspapers and gossip sites. Careers were stymied, movie releases were cancelled, and a horrific new fear was born: What if the entire contents of your inbox could be read by strangers?

While the details revealed in our emails might not make international headlines, our inboxes can contain an entire blueprint for our lives. As a thriller writer, I can’t help but imagine what would happen if that blueprint fell into the wrong hands and this question became the basis for my suspense debut, Just One Look. The narrator is a young lawyer named Cassie who becomes infatuated with a seemingly perfect partner at the firm after stumbling upon private email exchanges between him and his wife while reviewing correspondence for a case. Cassie knows she shouldn’t read them, but she can’t help herself. What begins as a bit of snooping escalates into a dangerous obsession when Cassie devises a plan to take his wife’s place.