Kerry Greenwood’s Life In Crime

bill-oxford-OXGhu60NwxU-unsplash.jpg

Many of my fans seem surprised to learn that before I was a published author I was a solicitor for the Legal Aid Commission. For the benefit of my not-quite-so-learned friends, perhaps I should explain that it is nothing like anything you see on TV or in films. I see lawyers onscreen and they only seem to have one, or at most two, cases. And we all ask ourselves the obvious question. What on earth do these people DO all day?

Perhaps you may have seen a chess master giving a simultaneous display. There is an entire room filled with people sitting at chess-boards. In the middle, the master walks around from board to board; their opponent makes a move; the master stares at the board for a moment and makes their reply. That is what being a public defender is really like. On an average day in court I’d run around eighteen cases (my record was twenty-six) and advise many other clients.

I am occasionally asked if I ever wanted to turn any of my cases into fiction. One of the main reasons I write what some people call escapist fiction is that I know only too well how horrible real life can be. I don’t think people should want to wallow in second-hand grime. And in any case their stories were not really mine to tell. I vowed that I would never write a character from my legal aid practice who was clearly identifiable. Being working-class myself, I know only too well that the poor have only their pride, and this must not be needlessly humbled. In Australia, Cabinet documents are classified for thirty years. For my legal practice I thought twenty years was enough.