Jump to content

Erotic Romance, Paranormals, & More


Recommended Posts

Too Much

B07RFL5NCG.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Too Much by Rachel Vorona Cote is $2.99! This nonfiction book was featured on both Hide Your Wallet & Cover Awe. This one is definitely in our house of wheels. Did you pick it up after seeing it mentioned here?

Lacing cultural criticism, Victorian literature, and storytelling together, TOO MUCH explores how culture corsets women’s bodies, souls, and sexualities–and how we might finally undo the strings.

A weeping woman is a monster. So too is a fat woman, a horny woman, a woman shrieking with laughter. Women who are one or more of these things have heard, or perhaps simply intuited, that we are repugnantly excessive, that we have taken illicit liberties to feel or fuck or eat with abandon. After bellowing like a barn animal in orgasm, hoovering a plate of mashed potatoes, or spraying out spit in the heat of expostulation, we’ve flinched-ugh, that was so gross. I am so gross. On rare occasions, we might revel in our excess–belting out anthems with our friends over karaoke, perhaps–but in the company of less sympathetic souls, our uncertainty always returns. A woman who is Too Much is a woman who reacts to the world with ardent intensity is a woman familiar to lashes of shame and disapproval, from within as well as without.

Written in the tradition of Shrill, Dead Girls, Sex Object and other frank books about the female gaze, TOO MUCH encourages women to reconsider the beauty of their excesses-emotional, physical, and spiritual. Rachel Vorona Cote braids cultural criticism, theory, and storytelling together in her exploration of how culture grinds away our bodies, souls, and sexualities, forcing us into smaller lives than we desire. An erstwhile Victorian scholar, she sees many parallels between that era’s fixation on women’s “hysterical” behavior and our modern policing of the same; in the space of her writing, you’re as likely to encounter Jane Eyre and Lizzy Bennet as you are Britney Spears and Tori Amos. This book will tell the story of how women, from then and now, have learned to draw power from their reservoirs of feeling, all that makes us “Too Much.”

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Too Much

B07RFL5NCG.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

The Unleashing

B00OEW75DK.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

RECOMMENDED: The Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston is $1.99! All of the books are on sale. Sarah she did a little drive by squee during a review for the second book, The Undoing:

Feared Viking blacksmith (of sorts) in the Raven clan has a massive crush on a former Marine who is reborn as a Crow. (Bonus: Ravens giving him shit about his crush, and his ability to admit easily that he really likes her: ALL the thumbs, all of them up.)

WINGING IT

Kera Watson never expected to face death behind a Los Angeles coffee shop. Not after surviving two tours lugging an M16 around the Middle East. If it wasn’t for her hot Viking customer showing up too late to help, nobody would even see her die.

In uncountable years of service to the Allfather Odin, Ludvig “Vig” Rundstöm has never seen anyone kick ass with quite as much style as Kera. He knows one way to save her life—but she might not like it. Signing up with the Crows will get Kera a new set of battle buddies: cackling, gossiping, squabbling, party-hearty women. With wings. So not the Marines.

But Vig can’t give up on someone as special as Kera. With a storm of oh-crap magic speeding straight for L.A., survival will depend on combining their strengths: Kera’s discipline, Vig’s loyalty… and the Crows’ sheer love of battle. Boy, are they in trouble.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Jinn and Juice

B00I828BL2.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Jinn and Juice by Nicole Peeler is $1.99! This is book in an urban fantasy series that Sarah mentioned in a previous Hide Your Wallet. I am obsessed with this cover and all of the purples. Any fans of this series in the Bitchery?

Cursed to be a jinni for a thousand years, Leila nears the end of her servitude—only to be bound once again against her will. Will she risk all to be human?

Born in ancient Persia, Leila turned to her house Jinni, Kouros, for help escaping an arranged marriage. Kouros did make it impossible for her to marry—by cursing Leila to live a thousand years as a Jinni herself.

If she can remain unBound, Leila’s curse will soon be over. But Ozan Sawyer, a Magi with the ability to See, Call, and Bind jinn has other plans.
Oz needs Leila to help him penetrate Pittsburgh’s steel-soaked magic, a juice potent but poisonous to supernatural creatures, in order to find a missing girl with her own mysterious connection to Kouros. Unfortunately for Leila, becoming Bound to Oz may risk more than just her chance to be human once more—it could risk her very soul…

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

View the full article

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 0
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.









Stephen King's War on Plot







An Algonkian Success Story










×
×
  • Create New...