Jump to content

Aliens, Time Travel, & More


Recommended Posts

Unconquerable Sun

B07WPNFXN6.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Unconquerable Sun by Kate Elliott is $2.99! Ellen reviewed this one and gave it a B:

You can bet when I saw the words “gender-swapped Alexander the Great in space” used to describe a book, my immediate reaction was PUT IT IN MY EYEBALLS. Plus, it’s written by Kate Elliot, who wrote the totally amazing and ass-kicking Spiritwalker fantasy trilogy.

GENDER-SWAPPED ALEXANDER THE GREAT ON AN INTERSTELLAR SCALE

Princess Sun has finally come of age.

Growing up in the shadow of her mother, Eirene, has been no easy task. The legendary queen-marshal did what everyone thought impossible: expel the invaders and build Chaonia into a magnificent republic, one to be respected—and feared.

But the cutthroat ambassador corps and conniving noble houses have never ceased to scheme—and they have plans that need Sun to be removed as heir, or better yet, dead.

To survive, the princess must rely on her wits and companions: her biggest rival, her secret lover, and a dangerous prisoner of war.

Take the brilliance and cunning courage of Princess Leia—add in a dazzling futuristic setting where pop culture and propaganda are one and the same—and hold on tight:

This is the space opera you’ve been waiting for.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Alien Quarantine Rescue

B08YFL37G1.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Alien Quarantine Rescue by Robin Lovett is $2.99! Please know that this book is absolutely bonkers and the alien hero has a vibrating wang whose love butter contains important antibodies. The pandemic in this book is fictional, but I totally get it if you don’t want to read anything pandemic related right now.

I’ve been alone in quarantine for five years. Then a hot alien lands in my yard claiming he’ll give me antibodies to the virus with his vibrating… Well, you know.

I haven’t touched anyone, let alone slept with anyone, since the Beerona Virus killed half of Earth’s population. This virus mutates faster than scientists can create a vaccine for it. I’ve lost all my family and all hope of seeing my friends again.

Until a naked, silver alien comes for me. The only words he knows are “Give antibodies” and “Mine.”

He could be lying. He could have Beerona. I could be dead in three days after the virus eats me from the inside out. But I haven’t had sex in so long, and he’s as strong as a gladiator, as beautiful as Adonis, and did I mention his big… Yeah, it really vibrates.

He needs things from me. Things he’s not telling me. He might be here to kidnap me, to take me back to his ship. I don’t know. But if he can give me antibodies, I could get my life back. I could have my friends and hugs…

And tons of filthy, mind-blowing alien sex.

What should I do? Should I open the door?

Would you let him in? 

Set during a fictional futuristic pandemic, Alien Quarantine Rescue is the first book in a new sci-fi erotic romance series with alien fated mates, a happily-ever-after, and alien vaccination sex.

If you like reading dirty talk, fluid play, and backdoor alien sex, this book is for you.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

The Psychology of Time Travel

B07DTJFS24.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas is $1.99! The premise sounds really freakin’ cool! This is a debut and readers found it ultimately delivered despite some pacing issues. Did you pick this one up last time it was on sale?

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project—and future of time travel—in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team—erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women’s fiction alike.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Sleeping Giants

B00ZNE44FK.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

RECOMMENDEDSleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel is $2.99! It’s a scifi novel with some great female characters. Readers say that though this scifi is a little darker and less “feel good,” they loved it. However, some felt a bulk of the book was just setup and information dumping for the next book. It has a 3.8-star rating on Goodreads. Elyse enjoyed this one and I really loved the audiobook.

Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.
 
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 0
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share












ALGONKIAN SUCCESS STORIES



WTF is Wrong With Stephen King?















×
×
  • Create New...