Jump to content

Breweries, Fantasy Romance, & More


Recommended Posts

Cocaine Blues

B07NNZJW1T.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Cocaine Blues by Kerry Greenwood is 99c and a KDD! This is book one in the Phryne Fisher Mysteries series. Elyse previously reviewed it and gave the book a B. In summary, she said that while the book was tons of fun to read, there were some things the TV show just did better, namely the costumes.

First in series from bestselling author, Kerry Greenwood

Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, now streaming on Netflix, starring Essie Davis as the honourable Phryne Fisher

The London season is in full fling at the end of the 1920s, but the Honourable Phryne Fisher—she of the green-gray eyes, diamant garters, and outfits that should not be sprung suddenly on those of nervous dispositions—is rapidly tiring of the tedium of arranging flowers, making polite conversations with retired colonels, and dancing with weak-chinned men. Instead, Phryne decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia.

Almost immediately from the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is embroiled in mystery: poisoned wives, cocaine smuggling rings, corrupt cops, and communism—not to mention erotic encounters with the beautiful Russian dancer, Sasha de Lisse—until her adventure reaches its steamy end in the Turkish baths of Little Lonsdale Street.

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

The Bridge Kingdom

B07SB6FRDN.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

The Bridge Kingdom by Danielle L. Jensen is $2.99! This is a new adult fantasy romance that could work well for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer Armentrout. Ellen reviewed it and gave it a C+, noting that while they mostly enjoyed the reading experience, the lead up to a cliffhanger ending was frustrating.

What if you fell in love with the one person you’d sworn to destroy?

Lara has only one thought for her husband on their wedding day: I will bring your kingdom to its knees. A princess trained from childhood to be a lethal spy, Lara knows that the Bridge Kingdom represents both legendary evil – and legendary promise. The only route through a storm-ravaged world, the Bridge Kingdom controls all trade and travel between lands, allowing its ruler to enrich himself and deprive his enemies, including Lara’s homeland. So when she is sent as a bride under the guise of fulfilling a treaty of peace, Lara is prepared to do whatever it takes to fracture the defenses of the impenetrable Bridge Kingdom.

But as she infiltrates her new home – a lush paradise surrounded by tempest seas – and comes to know her new husband, Aren, Lara begins to question where the true evil resides. Around her, she sees a kingdom fighting for survival, and in Aren, a man fiercely protective of his people. As her mission drives her to deeper understanding of the fight to possess the bridge, Lara finds the simmering attraction between her and Aren impossible to ignore.

Her goal nearly within reach, Lara will have to decide her own fate: Will she be the destroyer of a king or the savior of her people?

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Magic Bites

B000SEH16E.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

RECOMMENDED: Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews is $2.99! This is book one in the Kate Daniels series, and I remember reading it and hiding so no one would make me stop reading. This book has a 4-star average at Goodreads and is much loved.

Atlanta would be a nice place to live, if it weren’t for magic…

One moment magic dominates, and cars stall and guns fail. The next, technology takes over and the defensive spells no longer protect your house from monsters. Here skyscrapers topple under onslaught of magic; werebears and werehyenas prowl through the ruined streets; and the Masters of the Dead, necromancers driven by their thirst of knowledge and wealth, pilot blood-crazed vampires with their minds.

In this world lives Kate Daniels. Kate likes her sword a little too much and has a hard time controlling her mouth. The magic in her blood makes her a target, and she spent most of her life hiding in plain sight. But when Kate’s guardian is murdered, she must choose to do nothing and remain safe or to pursue his preternatural killer. Hiding is easy, but the right choice is rarely easy…

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

Enemies on Tap

B00L73NIWQ.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

Enemies on Tap by Avery Flynn is $2.99! This is the first book in the Sweet Salvation Brewery about three sisters who return to their hometown to revamp a family brewery. However, the small town isn’t exactly welcoming them with open arms. I thought this book was okay – C+ to B- range. The hatred against the sisters was a bit unfounded and a little over the top for me. But I absolutely loved the second book.

Brewing up trouble one pint at a time.

Enemies …After years away, Miranda Sweet returns to Salvation, Virginia to save her family’s brewery, but her fate is in the hands of her lover-turned-enemy, Logan. What’s a girl to do when the only person who can help her is the man who betrayed her?

Lovers …Logan Martin can’t believe his luck when the woman who smashed his heart to smithereens walks into his bank asking for his help. What she doesn’t know is that he needs the land her brewery is on–and he’ll do whatever it takes to get it.

An Irresistible Combination …Their wager becomes a battle between their attraction and their determination to win. But it’s in each other’s arms that they realize there might be more at stake now than their bet. With the town against the Sweet Salvation Brewery’s success, Logan has to choose between what’s expected of him and what he really wants…

Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

You can find ordering info for this book here.

 

 

 

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 0
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share












ALGONKIAN SUCCESS STORIES



WTF is Wrong With Stephen King?















×
×
  • Create New...